I have always found myself socially challenged in grade school. Becoming self-conscious over these years, I learned to become more relevant in this ever-changing society. Knowing the social environment, values, trends, and concerns has become key to connecting with the people around me. 

Tim Keller is no different, when it comes to making an effort to knowing his audience. I was told he reads all the New York Times Bestsellers. That sounds a bit of a stretch, like some legend or folk tale, but Tim Keller is Tim Keller after all. Call me a sucker, but I am ready to believe anything about that man.

I had to keep up with the youth pop culture when preparing to speak to youths recently–their music, shows, and wants. I must know my flock, know my people, and the listeners of this age.

