Reading through Lamentations, I stumbled across the widely-known passage, from which the famous hymn “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” was inspired and penned.

How sweet it was to read these words:

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases,
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

Even sweeter were these words, which reminded me of God’s place in my life:

“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.”

What gets me start thinking about how real I can be with God is this next set of words, where the internal tension begins to unfold:

The LORD is good to those who wait for him,
to the soul who seeks him.
It is good that one should wait quietly
for the salvation of the LORD.

Strangely, the mention of youth have slowly crept into me to remind me of my place in life. The difficulty is not that it puts me in my place (and it certainly should). The difficulty is realizing that there is such a yoke of youth that one is called to bear:

It is good for a man that he bear the yoke in his youth.

The yoke of youth is not easy, because life is always on the verge of regretful missteps or frivolity, but just for this season, I hold on and brace for the ride. Great is thy faithfulness.

