Last year, Crossway released a book by Mark Bertrand: (Re)thinking Worldview: Learning to Think, Live, and Speak in This World. Judging by the style of writing, the book is clearly aimed towards a younger crowd, and it just may be something worth considering for the youths in my church. (See the interview posted by the Center for Parent/Youth Understanding.)

In the preface, the author is very upfront about his aims and how he will accomplish it:

This is a book about worldview, which means it will touch on matters of theology, philosophy, and culture. These are deep waters, and I admit at the outset that I’m not the most authoritative guide. I make no claims to expertise. Instead, I am a fascinated amateur. In a field packed with professional ministers, theologians, historians, and philosophers, I am a layman. If anything, my sensibility is more artistic than academic—a fact that will no doubt drive some readers crazy, though I hope it will open up unexpected vistas, too.

I particularly like the way he engages his audience:

So the key to changing your worldview turns out to be, not some profound philosophical quest, but the fundamental journey to Christlike sanctity that every Christian is called to undertake. If you want to change your worldview, to make it a more consistently biblical worldview, then the first and most important thing you must do is work out your salvation in fear and trembling, knowing that it is God working in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

