Sometimes, you just want a refresher course on worship. So I look to Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology, and find there, a definition and explanation of worship:

Worship is a direct expression of our ultimate purpose for living, “to glorify God and fully to enjoy him forever.” God speaks of his “sons” and “daughters” as “every one who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory whom I formed and made” (Isa. 43:6–7). And Paul uses similar language when he says that “we who first hoped in Christ have been destined and appointed to live for the praise of his glory” (Eph. 1:12). Scripture is clear here and in many other passages that God created us to glorify him.

The results of worship are as follows:

  1. We delight in God.
  2. God delights in us.
  3. We draw near to God.
  4. God draws near to us.
  5. God ministers to us.
  6. The Lord’s enemies flee.
  7. Unbelievers know that they are in God’s presence.
