An excerpt from an article on CNN Money, by Paul R. La Monica:

But I honestly don’t have the time to commit to Facebook. My job, especially since the implosion of Lehman Brothers in September, keeps me insanely busy. And after sitting at a computer typing all day, the last thing I want to do when I get home is sit in front of another computer so I can upload photos to my Wall and read 25 random things about a high school classmate I haven’t spoken to in 18 years.

I also don’t feel the need to constantly update an entire network of friends about the daily minutiae of my life. My brother recently harassed me over the phone about why I wasn’t on Facebook. My response was, “You want my status update? I’m about to hang up on you.”

I may be in the minority. The Facebook universe is now 175 million users strong. But how is this company ever going to generate meaningful revenue and post profits from this massive user base? […]

